Smoky air and sunrises: thick heat and walks that can’t be beat!

I remember sitting at the back of my psychology class in high school, silently laughing at the bewildered expression on my teacher’s face, as another Pakistani student informed him that she would be going to Pakistan in a few short days. He was almost at a loss for words as he tried to wrap his mind around the fact that someone would voluntarily visit a country as “dangerous” and “violent” as Pakistan. I wasn’t surprised to encounter yet another person who avidly soaked in every image the media painted of the country, taking in the exaggerated stories of how the country is barbaric and violent and how terror inhabits everyday life. But the media couldn’t be further from the truth. Pakistan is a country that holds some of my best and most cherished memories. There’s nothing but warmth when I think of Pakistan.

Most of my memories of Pakistan revolve around two things, food and family. Which is a pretty good combination I think, because good food should be enjoyed with good company. The best part of Pakistan is of course the street food and food carts. Canada, I suppose on account of the weather, just cannot compare to the culture of eating outdoors. There are no salty fire roasted corn on the cob on the side of the road, no sugar cane chunks to munch on, no burgers made over fire by a man violating what would be numerous health codes in any Western country! (I’m sure it’s what gives it flavour, non?!)

Anyway, in this sense, my memories of Pakistan are simple and ordinary. They consist of memories of sitting outside in the courtyard eating guavas. Spending my afternoons watching SpongeBob Square Pants in Urdu! Climbing up to the rooftop at night to look at the stars, and eventually getting used to seeing the occasional tiny lizard around the house.

When I was eight, we took a trip to Pakistan that led us to the beautiful mountain ranges of the North West Frontier Province. I remember we twisted and turned on the spiraling and tiny mountain roads before finally stopping for food. We found a completely random little restaurant nestled in the trees, where we got fresh naan kebab and decided to have a picnic. I’ll never forget that moment of sitting among the lush greenery and taking in the warmth and beauty of it all. It was like nothing I’d ever experienced and I remember coming back to Canada and telling all my friends about it. At that age it never occurred to me that some people might see Pakistan as backwards and irrelevant. All I knew was that I had just had the most magical vacation ever and needed to show off to all the kids at school.

Not only was everything about Pakistan warm (and I don’t just mean the sweltering heat that sometimes invoked tears on my part), but simply put, everything was just really fun, even the simplest, most ordinary tasks. Having a late night barbeque and bonfire was really fun. Staying up late and playing carrom board was fun. One afternoon we all sat around together and shelled peas out of their pods for dinner, and even though I might’ve complained about it then, that moment is now a fond memory, and of course, it was fun. I don’t think I’d ever want to shell peas in Canada when I have the convenience of going out and buying a perfectly good bag, but I’d give anything to be sitting under Pakistan’s sun again, with the tedious task of shelling peas. Even walks in Pakistan are more fun, whether they’re just after Fajr prayer while the sun is rising, or in the cool evenings right after dinner. There’s just so much more to take in when you’re walking in Pakistan. The smoky air, the thick heat, donkeys braying and animals running around, street vendors yelling out to customers. All these things could easily be taken as negative, and often they are, especially when viewed from the outside.

However, in Pakistan there is always a sense of togetherness and comfort. And so for everything it’s given me, even when I’m living oceans away, I always send my love and prayers to Pakistan, for being so good and so kind to me. Despite the tragedies Pakistan has seen, there is still life, good life, there.

There’s so much to say about the country that a few paragraphs about my childhood above hardly do the country justice. One thing’s for sure though, Pakistan has only ever and will only ever, hold the warmest place in my heart.

Sincerely,

A Pakistani reminiscing warmer times

7 thoughts on “Smoky air and sunrises: thick heat and walks that can’t be beat!

    1. Just normal everyday stories, your travel ones would work great. If you read some of the other submissions on the blog they are mostly about peoples’ memories about a visit, and usually about traveling! 500-800words and an appropriate picture and title. Usually, I get a submission and then I work with the author making edits etc and then the story gets posted. Feel free to email me directly if you want to discuss some more. mynormalpak@gmail.com

      Cheers

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment